Safe Start applications returned to seven counties

For immediate release: July 20, 2020  (20-131)

Contact: Jessica Baggett, Communications, 360-789-0058

Safe Start applications returned to seven counties

OLYMPIA -- Today, Washington State Secretary of Health John Wiesman announced that he is returning all COVID-19 Safe Start applications from counties whose applications were put on pause or pending review before Governor Jay Inslee implemented a statewide pause on reopening plans. By the time these applications are eligible for review, at least four weeks will have passed. Much has changed during this time period and information in the applications will be outdated.

On July 14, Governor Inslee and Secretary Wiesman extended the pause that was announced on July 2 for any county to advance to the next phase of the Safe Start plan. This pause is anticipated to last until at least July 28.

The following county applications have been returned: Clark, Cowlitz, Jefferson, Kitsap, Klickitat, San Juan and Walla Walla.

Counties and their current phase of reopening are as follows:

  • Benton, Chelan, Douglas, Franklin and Yakima are in various versions of a modified Phase 1.
  • Adams, Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grant, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Klickitat, Okanogan, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Spokane, Walla Walla and Whatcom are in Phase 2.
  • Asotin, Columbia, Ferry, Garfield, Grays Harbor, Island, Kittitas, Lewis, Lincoln, Mason, Pacific, Pend Oreille, Skamania, Stevens, Thurston, Wahkiakum and Whitman are in Phase 3.

“It remains critical that everyone continues to do their part to slow the spread of COVID-19,” said Secretary Wiesman “Wear a face covering in any public setting or place where you can’t keep at least 6 feet of distance from people who are not members of your immediate household. In addition, stay home as much as possible, limit the number of people that you interact with, wash your hands and cover your coughs and sneezes.”